Weekly Weigh-In: Week 1

Okay, I know technically this should be my week 2 but last week as a gigantic catastrophe which I will explain shortly. So this morning, I hit up my WW meeting for the first time since my April restart. And (drum roll please….) things went well!

Weekly Gain/Loss:  – 3.4 pounds

Total Gain/Loss:  – 3.4 pounds

Thank goodness! I’d love to say that this was the result of two weeks of diligence and hard work, but that would totally be a lie.  Last Tuesday Mom QLC took a spill in her parking garage at work and shattered both wrists.  No bueno.  So Tuesday night was spent at the hospital.  And while she was in surgery, I started feeling badly.  By Wednesday morning feeling badly was a full-blown stomach virus that took about five days to run its course. I was les miserables.  I spent the early parts of this week working to get back to normal and trying to not gain back all of the weight I lost from being sick. I think it went pretty well actually.

In other news:

1) I registered for the Tour de Cure with fellow bloggers, Fat Ass to Fit Ass and Miss PR.  Tour de Cure is an annual cycling event raising money for the American Diabetes Association.  The event is June 4th and I have signed up to ride 25 miles. If you’re interested in supporting me/Team Fat Ass, click here! (And thanks!)

2)  Due to Mom QLC’s significant injuries, she won’t be able to ride a bike for a while. As a result, the fam decided to forgo our planned Freewheel trip this year. I’m kind of bummed, but I felt ill-prepared at this point so maybe it will be for the best. I can get my cycling fill in during the Tour de Cure and the MS 150 (Team Red Lantern Cycling is back in action!).

Our hotel - The Marriott South Beach

3) Only 62 days until Miami! I seriously cannot wait for this trip. I have countdown calendars at work and at home.  I don’t think I’ve been on a real vacation (with a plane and a beach and more than a long weekend) since my post-bar Mexico trip with Miss Dubs.  So far the trip has served as excellent motivation for eating well and exercising.  I want to feel good while I am there. I don’t want to worry about feeling super self-conscious.  It will be really nice to just enjoy myself knowing that I worked hard to look and feel the best I possibly could while I am there.

My goals for the coming week are to finally get my life back, haha. Being sick and helping take care of my mom got me all kinds of off kilter.  I’m ready to make a menu and go to the grocery store and be a little bit normal.  Miss PoliSci and I are also discussing signing up for a Couch-to-5k program with a local running store for some additional accountability.  I’ve started the program twice but for a variety of reasons (cough, excuses, cough) haven’t kept up with it. I would like to get my running legs back under me since it is the easiest way for me to workout at the lake in the summer time.

What goals are you working on this week? How are you preparing for shorts/swimsuit weather and summer trips?

2 Comments

Filed under Weigh In

2 responses to “Weekly Weigh-In: Week 1

  1. I was bummed to hear about your mama! We missed you at book group- it was different not having you there, but we all understood that it was important for you to be with the fam. How is she doing? And the stomach bug sounds terrible! I had food poisoning for the first time recently, and it was every bit as bad as I had heard it could be. I lost a few pounds, but I would have rather kept them than go through all that! I hope you’re doing well, and how exciting that you’ll get a real vacation soon. You deserve it, you hardworking, sexy mama!!

  2. Geoff

    Woot! Red Lantern! Woot!

Leave a Reply

