Starting Over…Again…(aka Week 0)

Click image for source.

I ventured back to WW this morning for the first time since January. Eeep.  I went ahead and reset myself with today’s date and weight as my starting point.  I honestly cannot tell you how many times I’ve started and re-started WW in the last 6 years.  I am probably not the best endorsement for the program, but really, I believe WW works.  The problem arises when I don’t work.  I’m trying really hard to remedy that problem, for a myriad of reasons, including but not limited to:

1) Freewheel:  We leave in 7 weeks (holy crap) for our week-long bike trek across the State of Oklahoma.  I know I will have more fun and be able to ride longer and faster if I lose some weight between now and then. Must get it together. Oh, and get in some serious training rides!

2) Miami:  I leave in 76 days (whoop!) for a 4-day girls trip to South Beach. I could not be more excited to get out-of-town and feel the sand beneath my feet.  I think as we get older it is really important to have trips/events on the calendar so there are things to look forward to.  When all I can see for my future is the same thing day in and day out, I get completely freaked.

3) Class Reunion:  This is much farther off (a little more than a year), but makes for a great long-term goal.  While Miss PoliSci, Miss Rose, Mrs. Bookworm and I are still debating our attendance, I want to be prepared to attend should we decide to do so.  And I want to feel good about myself when I get there.

I’ve also been really inspired lately by my favorite contestant on this season of the Biggest Loser, Hannah.  For whatever reason, I really relate to her and she has become such a rock star on the show.  You can tell how much her personality has changed and how confident she feels now.  I totally want that.  So I am officially back on the wagon, where I’d really like to stay…for good.

In order to firm up my commitment and to gain some additional accountability, I decided to share my short-term goal here: 20 pounds before by Miami!  I think it is totally doable, if I am consistent, which is always my biggest struggle.

What goals are you currently working on? How do you stay consistent in your eating/exercise plans?

Coming Attractions: Photos of the vegetable garden planted by Mrs. BW and myself, 101 in 1001 and the clothes I want to wear in Miami!

3 Comments

Filed under Weigh In

3 responses to “Starting Over…Again…(aka Week 0)

  1. Mindy S

    Ahh! I can’t believe we leave for Miami in 76 days! I’m so excited! That is great motivation for me to workout regularly and cut the sweets out of my diet!!

  2. Nicole E.

    Hey Elaina! I stumbled across your blog and just wanted to say I totally believe in weight watchers too! I have been doing it and have lost some weight since I started. I have my slip up weeks (like my birthday), but I totally agree, if I work, then it works. Also, my fiance and his best friend did Free Wheel last year! I met them in Tahlequah in the middle of the week and it looked like people were love it. They seemed to have a good time too! Good luck accomplishing your goals! You have always been so driven, so I don’t think you’ll have any problem! 🙂

Leave a Reply

