Things That Make Being Single Not Suck

In honor, or maybe more accurately dishonor, of Valentine’s Day(aka Single Awareness Day), here are a few reasons that single isn’t so bad:

1.  If I want to eat cereal three meals a day, every day (a la Miss Agnes), no one cares.  In fact, I don’t have to take anyone into consideration at all when I cook.  I grew up in a family of non-picky eaters, but the older I get the more I appreciate the fact that I am not picky and that I do not have to cater to anyone else’s food needs/wants.

2.  I can sleep in the middle of the bed, wrapped up like a burrito. And I do.

3.  I don’t have to shave my legs if I don’t want to.

4.  I can watch what I want to watch when I want to watch it.  Hello, Veronica Mars, I Used to be Fat, and One Tree Hill.

 

Robert Buckley. If you aren't watching OTH, he is why you should be.

 

5.  I get to make my own schedule.  If someone invites me to do something, I can check my calendar and that’s it.  Not worrying about what someone else may or may not have planned is pretty darn nice.

6.  Silence.  Sometimes I want to walk around the house with my iPod on listening to an audiobook or sit in the living room and cut recipes out of magazines or fold laundry without talking to anyone or feeling like I should be talking to someone.  (Man, that made my life sound super glamorous.)

7.  I get to spend unlimited time with my friends and family.  I watch my friends do the boyfriend-friends-family juggle all the time, and while they do it well most of the time, it makes me appreciate that I can devote myself to my best friend for an evening when she comes to town without feeling guilty about not being with my SO or wishing that I was with SO.  No being torn between friends and boyfriend.

8.  Time.  I’ve already told you that I don’t think there are enough hours in the day.  Some weeks I can’t imagine when I would have time to go on a date if someone actually asked me.  Adding a relationship to my plate sounds really stressful sometimes.

9.  My money is my money.  From what I hear, combining finances can be a huge pain for a couple.  It’s nice to be able to go buy something without running it by anyone else.

10.  Mobility.  If I decided tomorrow that I wanted to pick up and move to, well anywhere, I could do it.  Without worrying about how/if it would affect my relationship.  No stressing about whether my SO would want to come, SO finding a job, co-habitating, long distance relationships, etc.  I could just pack up and leave.  (Note: I currently have no intention of doing this.  I have a good job and am only licensed to practice law in the State of Oklahoma.)

Honestly, I thought I could come up with a much longer list than this.  And really everything I wrote boils down to having freedom and independence.  While I appreciate my current freedoms, I’ve had them for a long time, and as I get older, I crave them less.  It’s been 9 years since I moved out of my parents house.  I have spent the last decade soaking up my independence.  As much as I enjoy doing my own thing, I don’t think it would bother me to incorporate someone else into my day-to-day life.  That said, I don’t necessarily think I would be very good at it.

What do like about being single? Or in the alternative, what do you miss the most about being single now that you are in a relationship?

Happy Single Awareness/Valentine’s Day!

* Click on images for source. Warning: Source for Robert Buckley picture is NSFW.

3 Comments

Filed under Love

3 responses to “Things That Make Being Single Not Suck

  1. I’ll tell you what I miss about being single: not taking a shower immediately after the gym.

  2. Mindy

    This is a great list! I would say my favorite thing about being single is not having to talk or be nice to anyone first thing in the morning! I can be really mean in the morning and I enjoy knowing that me being grouchy isn’t starting anyone elses day off on a bad note!

  3. This is really a good list! I do miss having more time, although there is never, ever enough for everything I want to do, single or not. And as much as I love being married, the few times a year when I’m home alone are glorious–I do many of the things you listed, just because I can, especially the eating and watching whatever I want!

Leave a Reply

