Weekly Weigh-In: Week 1

It’s that day of week again! Weigh-in day! I was actually pretty pumped to go to my WW meeting today because I knew I’d had a good week — I’d worked out 5/7 days, written down literally every bite of food I had consumed (even the ones that most people would consider “bad” — hello, birthday cake & party taco!) and eaten lots of delicious healthy food. And I was right!

Weigh-in: – 3.6 lbs.

Total lost: – 3.6 lbs.

I feel really good about that loss.  I know that 3.6 lbs is on the high side for what is considered a healthy amount of weight to lose in a week (1-2 pounds per week is often cited as a healthy rate of weight loss) but since it was my first week to really work the program, I’m not surprised.  In every weight loss program I have ever done the first few weeks always yield bigger results (water weight? shocking your system?) and then things usually taper off to a normal, healthy rate.

I think my biggest success this week was tracking all of my food.  In the past, my routine was to go to my WW meeting, weigh-in, eat like crazy for a couple of days without writing anything down, and then be really, really diligent for the rest of the week leading up to my next weigh-in.  This is just a recipe to gain and lose the same 1.5 pounds for months on end.

This past week, I did most of my indulging in the 2-3 days post-weigh-in but I still kept a good handle on it.  Yes, I ate Taco Bueno last Thursday for lunch and on Friday I had Pei Wei for dinner and on Saturday I had a Sonic Breakfast Burrito and birthday cake.  And WW says that’s okay.

The way the program works is each person is assigned a daily PointsPlus value based mostly on your age, height and current weight.  This value designates the amount of food you are to eat per day.  Then all foods are assigned PointsPlus values as well so you can keep track of everything you are eating.  You also get “Weekly Points” to use (or not use) at any time during the week. (I.e. for birthday cake)  The third type of points are “Activity Points.”  By exercising, you can earn additional points to eat or not eat depending on your preference.  Weekly Points and Activity Points are (in my opinion) what gives WW the flexibility that a lot of other programs don’t.  It was okay for me to have Taco Bueno, Pei Wei and Sonic because I used my Weekly and Activity Points to do it.

In terms of eating not-so-healthy foods, I feel like I should point out that for me, it would not be okay to eat them all of the time.  Sure I could eat Taco Bueno every day and stay within my PointsPlus target, but that really defeats the purpose of WW and of my 2011 Quest for Health (yes, I committed to it).  I had some splurges last week (note: splurges NOT cheats) and that was okay because I wrote everything down, I ate lots of healthy foods and I got plenty of exercise.

This week I did a better job laying out my workout clothes and work clothes the night before so I felt very organized.  I did not accomplish my goal of working on my sleep schedule.  I was all over the place this week — I’m going to blame the weather.  I like to workout in the mornings before work so I feel like I’ve started my day on the right foot but it is really hard to get up at 5:00 a.m. when it’s 6 degrees outside.

Goals for next week: 1) Sleep schedule. Seriously this time. 2) Earning my first 5-pounds lost star!

 

This is the Thomas the Train birthday cake my sister and I made for my nephew's 3rd birthday party! It was fun and delicious!

Note:  I decided to include more information about WW to help my readers better understand what I’ve been eating (I know Broccoli-Cheese-Potato-Sausage Soup doesn’t sound that healthy) and how WW works.  I am by no means a WW or weight loss expert, but I thought it would be helpful since I have been talking about WW so much to explain it.  (This decision was also at the suggestion of Geoffersonspin, who I feel like is becoming my editor!)  If you have any WW questions, feel free to post them in the comments and I will address them to the best of my knowledge.  Or check out the WW website to get the full scoop.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Health, Weigh In

6 responses to “Weekly Weigh-In: Week 1

  1. Kaci

    Yay for a good week,

  2. Mindy

    Congrats! Sounds like you had a great week! I agree I need to work on sleep schedule a lot I think a lot of my un healthy food choices come from being tired and looking for some energy!! Love reading your blog!

  3. quarterlifeconfused

    Thanks! I agree about being tired leading to poor food choices completely — I’m tired so somehow it is okay to indulge in _________. For me working on my menu and food prep has really helped this so far, but being tired is killing my workout drive!

  4. Michaela

    Congrats on a great week! I have my first week weigh-in on Sunday and am really looking forward to it. This is my first time on WW, so there’s been a bit of a learning curve. Overall, though, I really like it. Keep up the great work!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Weigh-In: Week 2 | Quarter Life Confused

Leave a Reply

