Menu Plan Monday: Week of Jan. 10th

This week I based my menu plan largely off the produce I got at my co-op.  The produce share included: broccoli, spinach, potatoes, yellow onions, corn, butternut squash, grapefruit, blueberries, and little baby tangerines.  Fortunately the share provided most of the ingredients for a soup I’d had my eye on trying!

Sunday:  Broccoli-Cheese-Potato-Sausage Soup (adapted from Gina’s Skinny Recipes by adding 1/2 lb. turkey sausage); Baked salmon w/ Roasted Butternut Squash, couscous and  spinach

Couscous w/ mushrooms and bell peppers, roasted butternut squash, baked salmon w/ dill & chives on a bed of sautéed spinach

Meatless Monday: Roasted Butternut Squash w/ mushroom-bell pepper couscous; Breakfast for dinner – veggie & egg scramble

Tuesday:  BCPS Soup; Slow Cooker Pork Carnitas Tacos w/ roasted corn and Cilantro Lime Rice

Wednesday:  BCPS Soup; Grilled Chicken Salad

Thursday: Pork Carnitas Tacos; Whole wheat pasta w/ Chicken meatballs and Spicy Tomato Basil Sauce

Friday: BCPS Soup; TBD

Breakfasts:  WW Smoothies, cream of wheat, eggs, fruit, Bagel Thins

Snacks: Peanut Butter, Popcorn, Tangerines, yogurt

Since this week will be busier than last I tried to prep a lot of food on Sunday — making soup, the pork carnitas and sugar-free pudding (pistachio = LOVE),  and cooking my lunch for Monday on Sunday night.  I also organized 5 complete sets of gym clothes into a laundry basket so I wouldn’t have to hunt them down every day of the week.

Also, I’d like to give a shout out to my homey, Geoffersonspin, for suggesting that I generate more health-related content here. Clearly, I have lots to say on the topic! And the additionally accountability has been really great so far. So thanks, Geoffersonspin, and let’s bust out our bikes together asap! (And by that I mean as soon as it is about 65 degrees on a regular basis!)

5 Comments

Filed under Menu Plans

5 responses to “Menu Plan Monday: Week of Jan. 10th

  1. Kaci

    I’m going to need that soup recipe! Oh, and you are on my blog roll now, yay!

  2. Hey, I found your blog! Your menu looks pretty tasty, my friend. I would like to start adding more health-related content to my blog too. I was thinking about starting a series called “Fitness Fridays” where I show off my favorite workout moves and write about recipes, motivation, etc. Does that sound like something that anybody would read? (I’m fishing.)

  3. Pingback: Weekly Weigh-In: Week 1 | Quarter Life Confused

  4. Pingback: Weekly Weigh-In: Week 3 | Quarter Life Confused

Leave a Reply

