Reverb10: Made

Prompt: Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it? (By Gretchen Rubin)

The last thing I feel like I really made was a diaper cake for my cousin’s baby shower.  (It should be noted that technically I “make” food all the time, but I think I cook so much that it doesn’t count.)  I used a ton of diapers, some fun ribbon, a wooden ‘H,’ green paint, tape, dental floss, and a fleece blanket.  You have to roll the diapers up and secure them — hence the tape, but we ran out of tape and resorted to dental floss. It took WAY longer than it should have but it turned out so cute that I didn’t care.  Oh, and the fleece blanket was rolled up in the middle as the “anchor” so to speak of our cake.  And voila!

 

Everything was gender neutral because the sex of the baby is going to be a surprise! Hurry up Baby Hale, you are LATE!

 

I really, really want to make a fabric covered headboard for my bed. I got the idea from Jaime at Rabit Stew (another blogger I have stalked from Weddingbee over to their personal blog…) and she made it seem totally simple and chic.  I’ve been using just the metal frame that comes with a mattress for over 2 years and it is lame and annoying.  Plus, I hate leaning up against the blinds at night when I’m reading. I’ve had this project on my to-do list for a while and my dad already volunteered to help me so hopefully I can knock it out over my “stay-cation” after Christmas.  I need to order some fabric to use and since I am OB.SESSED. with black and white damask this seems like a natural choice:

 

It's classic and classy. =)

I’m glad this was a reverb10 prompt because it reminded me how much I really want to make the headboard! Don’t worry, I’ll be sure to show you follow-up pics when I do.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Reverb10

2 responses to “Reverb10: Made

  1. Mrs. BW

    I want to make one too!! My mom’s made a few and won’t make me one because they’re apparently too easy and I need to do it myself! Can I stop by the stay-cation?

  2. I can’t wait to see how it turns out! And that fabric is gonna look fantastic. It really is easy, I promise…the hardest part was attaching the finished headboard to the frame. 🙂

Leave a Reply

