Reverb10: Letting Go

Prompt: Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why? (By Alice Bradley)

In 2010, I think I let go of the need to please other people.  I’ve always been a pleaser and I almost always said yes to an invitation, whether I felt like it or not.  And I always worried about what other people thought about me.  And this year, I think I finally came into my own in a way.  I started saying no when I didn’t feel like doing something and I let that be okay.  I stopped worrying that if I opted to stay home instead of go out with my friends that I was going to miss something HUGE and everyone was going to forget about me.  I stopped caring so much about whether someone else thought my outfit was cute as long as I liked it.  (Although, I’ve always been fairly good at this I think I felt more genuine and confident about it this year.)  This year I let go of what I perceived of as other people’s expectations for me and manifested my own.  And I felt freed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reverb10

Leave a Reply

