Reverb10: Writing

Prompt: Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (By Leo Babauta)

This is probably a weird answer, but I think the thing I do that doesn’t contribute to my writing is holding back.  I feel like I have created some kind of pressure on myself to always have a thought-provoking or witty or somehow life-changing-to-me thought to write about here.  I know lots of other people who blog about their daily lives, clothes, food, etc.  I have somehow created a blog that doesn’t incorporate those things at this point and now I wonder if I can actually incorporate them.  I don’t always have poignant thoughts or rants to use as topics.  I want to write more often, but I feel like if I don’t have anything exciting or super interesting to say, than I shouldn’t.  What’s funny is that I love reading blogs by other people who write about recipes or runs or their kids or photography or their wedding plans or what they did the last weekend.  They are some of my favorites.  I don’t know why I think I have to be so serious all the time and I think that in holding back from the light-hearted day-to-day writing I’m not contributing to my writing body of work as a whole.  And my readers (Hello? Is anyone out there?) Don’t get to know me in what can be a very important every day way — they just know about my gripes and moans and groans and injustices, haha.

I think I can correct this problem by finding another thread to weave into this blog — some other topic that reveals more about me to the reader and let’s me be a little less serious and a lot less melancholy.  I can let go of the super serious voice and find something that suits my personality better, although, I won’t lie, I do tend to be rather serious in general.

Also, I totally watch WAY, WAY, WAY too much TV and that definitely isn’t contributing to my writing chops.  Time to start cutting out the shows that I’m just not that into…

2 Comments

Filed under Reverb10

2 responses to “Reverb10: Writing

  1. GeoffersonSpin

    In your last post you said you want 2011 to be about Health. I say you incorporate that into your writing. That should give you lots to talk about and it will help keep you honest about actually going through with your goals when you know you have committed to writing about them. Just a though 🙂

    PS – I really like your Reverb10 posts so far and kinda feel like I should have joined in…

  2. The beautiful thing about blogs is that you can refocus them as you wish.

    I’m really enjoying this reverb10 project

Leave a Reply

