Reverb10: One Word

I guess in attempt to redeem myself from my NaBloPoMo FAIL and because I love to get all introspective and whatnot, I signed up for Reverb10.  Because for some reason I find it difficult to explain, here’s the deal per the Reverb10 website:

Reverb 10 is an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next. The end of the year is an opportunity to reflect on what’s happened, and to send out reverberations for the year ahead. With Reverb 10, we’ll do both.

This December we invite you to share your story and join us in reflection.

Each day I am emailed a prompt to write about regarding this year or the coming year or both. I am pretty excited about it! So without further ado, I bring you my first Reverb10 post!

Prompt: One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you? (Submitted by Gwen Bell)

OCCUPIED. I feel like 2010 has been incredibly busy, especially compared with the general lethargy of 2009.  I was constantly going, going, going — my time filled with several large projects at work, bible study, three (3!!) book clubs (two live and one virtual), training for and running the OKC Half-Marathon, sorority alumnae association and advisory board meetings and activities, college football games, moving, the MS 150 Bike Ride, and two seasons of kickball .  Oh, and spending time with my friends and family at the lake, the Farmers Market, Trivia Night and weddings.

This year I wanted very much to feel more fulfilled through the ways I was spending my time because for me personal satisfaction does not always, or necessarily often, come through my work.  It just isn’t how I am wired.  When something goes well at work, of course I feel really good about it, but I tend to need more diversification in my interests and accomplishments.  So I found lots and lots of things to do this year and while for the most part I thoroughly enjoyed all of them, I can’t help but wonder if I spent my time in the most beneficial ways.

There were weeks when I was down right exhausted and a six week period in which I went out-of-town every weekend.  Free time was so rare that I spent most of it by myself on the couch with the DVR remote in my hand, not the physically or emotionally healthiest way to recharge my batteries.  I think I have become a little over-programmed at times.  I can meet all the obligations I have created for myself but sometimes it lacks joy.  I find myself saying “I HAVE to do ____________” even though the blanks are usually filled with things I should want to do — like go to a birthday dinner or a book club meeting or a sorority happy hour.   Having so much to do often turns the fun things turn into just more tasks/events/meetings to cross off a list.

I am trying to re-program myself.  I am trying to want to go out with my friends even though I really want to catch up on this season of Millionaire Matchmaker.  It’s not that I don’t want to see my friends. It is more that I lack the energy to find something to wear and to leave the house and to talk in a meaningful way.  I have been truly blessed with opportunities and experiences this year, I just need to remind myself sometimes that being “occupied” is so much more fun than being idle.

As for 2011? I think the one word I hope will describe my 2011 experience is HEALTHY.  I have waxed poetic about my weight issues on here enough times that I will just say that in 2011 I want to focus on my personal, physical health.  I devoted much of 2010 to my emotional and spiritual needs.  Now, it is time to whip this bod into shape!  (Legally Blonde The Musical anyone?)  In an effort to start manifesting my 2011 year of health early, I rejoined Weight Watchers (for the kajillionth time) and promised my sister and brother I would run the OKC Half-Marathon with them.  I feel ready, if not slightly terrified, to commit to exercising and eating well in 2011.  That’s all I really, truly want — to become a healthy, fit person.

2 Comments

Filed under Health, Reverb10

2 responses to “Reverb10: One Word

  1. Pingback: Reverb10: Moment | Quarter Life Confused

  2. Pingback: New Year. New You? | Quarter Life Confused

Leave a Reply

