These Are My Obsessions. – Vol. IV

Eskimo Joe's Koozies? Heck yes.

1.)  Koozies.  Any cold beverage stays colder, fresher and better when it is in a koozie.  Fact.  I have one in my desk drawer, one on my nightstand and one in my purse.  And yes, I have been known to use it at a restaurant or bar to keep my beverage cooler longer in the sweltering Oklahoma heat.

2.)  E.L.F. Waterproof Eyeliner Pen. It’s like putting on your eyeliner with a fine-tipped Sharpie.  A-mazing.  Especially for people with a healthy fear of liquid eyeliner.  Oh, and it’s only $1.00.  I mean, for a $1.00 it could be the crappiest eyeliner in the world and I’d still buy it because I’m not sure you can even get Wet’n’Wild eyeliner for $1.00 anymore.

3.)  Fall clothes.  I have been drinking them in for weeks.  I cannot wait for the temperatures to drop so I can swaddle myself in cardigans, giant scarves and boots.  All in oranges and reds and goldy-yellows and browns.  I die.

4.)  Sperry Top-siders.  I have been lusting after them for years.  5 to be exact.  Beginning in the fall of my first year of law school and ending last Tuesday, every time I entered Dillard’s I picked up a pair.  Sometimes I tried them on, sometimes I just petted them.  But I wanted them. Forever.  I’m not entirely sure why it took me so long to bite the bullet and buy them.  Somehow they felt like a splurge, even though they aren’t terribly expensive.  There were always just more practical things for me to buy I guess.  Well, I bought them.  And it is LOVE.

5.) College Football.  It’s the most wonderful time of the year…except for Christmas, but college football is still going on during Christmas so it’s even better then.  Anyway, football season is upon us.  My team kicks off tomorrow at 6:00 p.m. CST.  I am giddy.  I love love love the smell of a great tailgate party, the crisp in the air when we’re unpacking the tailgate necessities on a ridiculously early fall morning (I know there won’t be crispness tomorrow — it will be a sticky warmth I’m sure — but still), hoping, wishing and praying that Lee Corso won’t pick your team to win (his pick is the kiss of death), screaming and singing and clapping until it hurts, reading every inch of press about your game and your opponents and then trying to ignore it all, the electric feeling that emanates from everyone and everything on game day, and the unadulterated joy that overwhelms every time your team scores.  Pure magic. Go Pokes.

Real fans wear orange. All the time.

* Click on images for sources.

1 Comment

Filed under Obsessions

One response to “These Are My Obsessions. – Vol. IV

  1. Mindy

    I’m going to have to try the E.L.F eyeliner!! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

