It hasn’t been ten years already…has it?

So I recently received a message via facebook (of course) regarding plans for my 10 year high school reunion.

Yes, I am completely befuddled as well, Panda.

Seriously, I am so not ready for this. Okay, so actually, I’ve got quite a bit of time. My reunion is two years away, but my over-zealous classmates sort of gave me a small panic attack. I am so not ready to relive the glory days of high school!

Why is that exactly? Well, I feel like I haven’t accomplished enough. I’m not where I want to be and I don’t want my classmates to know it. I mean, really, isn’t the whole purpose of a class reunion to brag about how awesome you are and remind everyone who is clearly less awesome of your superiority? I don’t feel awesome. And I certainly don’t want to fall into the less awesome category.

And what if I was cooler/more accomplished in high school than I am now? Trust me, it’s possible. I was SUPER into high school, like to the point of being ridiculous — into high school as in class president, cheerleading captain, national honor society executive, etc. I realize those things didn’t actually make me cool, but hey, I had my shit together and it was obvious. Oh how the mighty have fallen. I don’t want to go to my reunion and be that person that people are like, man, what happened to Quarterlife? And don’t even get me started on how I look…10 year reunion was added to my giant list of reasons to workout/eat right/lose weight. (It even landed a pretty coveted spot on the list in the top 3 reasons.)

So what can I do about it?

1) Well, first of all, I should probably stop acting like it is a huge deal, because in the big scheme of things, it just isn’t.

2) Remind myself that while I may not be as personally successful as I would like to be, I have been academically successful and somewhat professionally successful so all those married people with kids who immediately lost all their baby weight can suck it. Okay, that wasn’t nice, but you know what I mean.

3) Do some things in the next couple of years that make me feel good so that when reunion time actually rolls around I will be excited to see some old faces and I will feel proud of myself and the things that have happened in my life since I left the hallowed halls of Dear Booker T. Washington High School, the pride of the great southwest… Sorry, got wrapped up in the school song.

Okay, now I have a game plan. I feel much better. Oh, and just so you know, I am so totally on the reunion committee. That’s right, still tryin’ to live the dream. And for your viewing pleasure, a few random high school pics that really embody my complete hondo-ness….

I thought I was hott stuff in my teeny tiny cheer skirt.

Hanging out at Volleyball Camp. Yes, there are ribbons on my flip-flops.

This is what the school looked like when I was there. Now it's all fancy shmancy.

Do you have class reunion anxiety too? Or am I being completely ridiculous (as usual)? What would you look forward to about your high school reunion?

Leave a comment

Filed under Etc.

Leave a Reply

